Tuesday, 12 August 2014

Tales of the Buddha’s Former Lives Stories 1-50 ebook

Tales of the Buddha’s Former Lives originates from a collection of stories known as the Jataka Tales. The Buddha Himself used the Jataka stories to explain concepts like karma and rebirth and to emphasise the importance of certain moral values. The Jataka Tales were frequently used in Buddhist countries to develop wholesome character of their people.

The main purpose of these stories is to develop the moral and ethical values of the readers. By reading these stories, children and adults can develop their knowledge and learn how to face difficult experiences of modern life. All Jataka stories have a moral at the end on how to correct our ways and to develop virtuous conduct and good behaviour. Children and adults can learn to develop good values and qualities like patience, forbearance, tolerance and the four sublime states of mind : loving-kindness, compassion, sympathetic joy and equanimity. Without wholesome values, people cannot be happy in their hearts and minds, or be at peace. 

To allow readers to understand the Jataka stories in modern English, the stories are not a 
scholarly word-for-word translation, instead they are retold in a manner that conveys the spirit 
and meaning they embrace. 

Link 1 Stories 1 - 50 ebook           or         Link 2  Stories 1 - 50 ebook

Copyrighted & Published by:
Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery

Gratefully acknowledges the permission kindly given by the publisher, Kong Meng San Phor Kark See Monastery to share the above ebooks on this blog